52 Student-Athletes Honored For Academic Success

52 Student-Athletes Honored For Academic Success

Academics is the most important component for an athlete to be a college athlete.  To compete at the next level and to be called a college athlete one must succeed in the classroom in order to be a student-athlete.

Union County College and the College Life office is proud to honor 52 student-athletes who thrived in the classroom during the Fall 2016 semester.  A breakfast was hosted by the College Life office to honor the student-athletes who were named to both the Garden State Athletic Conference All-Academic Team and the NJCAA Region XIX All-Academic Team.  

Each student-athlete also took the time to invite a faculty or administrator who had an impact on their academic success at Union County College.


Garden State Athletic Conference All-Academic Team

3.0-3.24 GPA


Alex Beato                

Austin Newell                  

Jovon Portuondo       

Wesley Puello                   

Cross Country

Raymond Godson                     


Joshua Marseille                 


Dominic Iglesia                       

Isaac Parnass                      

Jonathan Nunez                     

Sean Quigley                             

Steven Gillespie                      

Steven Clarke                         

Men's Basketball

Franklin Cedeno                       

Jevon Allen                         

Track & Field

Brenda Diaz                             

Sachin Simpson                        

Sylvester Hill                           

Women's Basketball

Evangela Morris                  

Francesca Cherasaro                

Women's Soccer

Rosabrianna Bonilla 


NJCAA Region XIX All-Academic Team

3.25+ GPA


Luis Rullan                        

Tavis Brunson                      

Cross Country

Daivon Crawford                       

Joshua Capistrano                  


Allan Acre                              

Andrew Gutierrez                     

David Weichert                       

Kyle Lafferty                             


Alexis Garcia                            

Cole Weber                              

Jose Quintero                          

Michael Palumbo                      

Men's Basketball

Brandon Vila                          

Jahn Whitelocke-Chensee   

Men's Soccer

Augusto Torres                  

Brian Orellana                      

Fredy Pena Bueno              

James Dorcely                        

Kevin Viana                           

Rodrigo Saldana                       

Watson Momplaisir                

Yosuke Hirashiki                    


Nahomis Angulo                    

Emily Badalis                        

Linda Thomas                       

Lude Louisy                           

Women's Basketball

Jasmin Boone-Alexandre           

Khayriyyah Dawson                   

Women's Soccer

Andrea Motino                          

Doris Almagro                          

Emily Morris                             

Isabella Betancourt 

Academic Breakfast