Lady Owls Named Region XIX Champions!

Lady Owls Named Region XIX Champions!

The Women's Basketball team has been on fire throughout the 2014-15 season with a record of 12-1 for the end of their regular season record in the conference. Entering playoffs the Lady Owls were neck and neck with Lackawanna College and to the fate of a coin toss Union received the 2nd seed and Lackawanna received the 1st seed for the Region XIX Tournament.

Finding motivation from the coin toss the Lady Owls hit the court with determination for the Region XIX semifinal game vs. Harcum College.  During the regular season Union and Harcum split the games with a win each leaving the semifinal game for anyone's taking.  After a well fought game Union pulled out with the win by one point and earned a spot in the Region XIX finals.  

For the third time this season Union will go head to head with Lackawanna College.  Just like Harcum College, the Lady Owls split the regular season games with Lackawanna and the finals were also up for the taking.  The Lady Owls worked all season for this game and knew that they had to leave everything on the court in order to be named Region XIX Champions.  Forty minutes later the Owls defeated Lackawanna College 69-46 and were named Region XIX Champions!  After the team was passed the championship plaque, #3 Zhane Robinson was named the MVP of the tournament and head coach Cheryl Bell received the Donna Herron, DII Coach of the Year award.

Union County College will now host the next round of the NJCAA Women's Basketball DII District N & O playoffs held at County College of Morris on March 7th and 8th.  Union will be the 1st game on Saturday at 5pm vs Dean College from Massachusetts who represents Region XXI.  The following game will be Lackawanna College vs Monroe College from New York who represents Region XV.  The championship game on Sunday will start at 1pm with the two winners from Saturday's game will be playing for the District Champion.

The two teams in Sunday's game will both advance to the NJCAA Women's Basketball DII National Tournament held at Johnson County Community College in Overland Park Kansas March 17th through the 21st.